This 1927 single storey brick construction sits between Taunton Castle and the Winchester Arms, whose Georgian Gothic windows balance those in the South West tower across the modern footbridge. It was built in 1928 as a lecture hall after a gift to SANHS by William Wyndham.
Generations of Taunton schoolchildren used to enter Wyndham Hall through the C16 carved oak doorway, recycled from elsewhere in the town, to hear talks of historical, archaeological or natural history interest. Religious or political subjects were excluded as a result of the deed of Wyndham’s gift.
A raked floor with seating leads down to a stage where lecturers stood, no doubt with magic lantern slides at the ready.
The Hall has not been used in recent years, but new work is underway to restore and revive it. When repairs have been completed, SANHS will be able to use the hall as a lecture space, exhibition area, and independent cinema. The building may have a modern extension added, but the original fittings and character will be kept as much as possible to preserve the space’s unique history.