# SOMERSET ARCHÆOLOGICAL AND NATURAL HISTORY SOCIETY

## Patron: HER MAJESTY THE QUEEN

Trustees: Lt. Col. J. A. Garton, C.B.E., M.C., Mrs. C. W. H. Rawlins, F.S.A., The Rt. Hon. The Earl Waldegrave, Sir R. de Z. Hall, K.C.M.G., and Dr. C. A. Ralegh Radford, F.S.A., F.B.A., F.R.HIST.S.

President: ERNEST G. NEAL, M.SC., PH.D.

Vice-President: MAJ. GEN. R. EVANS, C.B., M.C., D.L.

Chairman of the Council: T. J. HUNT, F.S.A.

Hon. Secretaries: E. L. KELTING, O.B.E., and SIR R. DE Z. HALL, K.C.M.G.

Hon, Treasurer: H. H. ADAMSON

Hon. Editor: I. I. JEFFRIES

Secretary and Librarian: C. A. COOKSON, O.B.E.

### COUNCIL OF THE SOCIETY

Ex-officio Members: The President, Hon. Secretaries, Hon. Treasurer and Hon. Editor

Elected Members (to retire at Annual Meeting indicated):

- 1967 J. STEVENS COX, F.S.A., MAJ. GEN. R. EVANS, C.B., M.C., D.L., DR. C. A. RALEGH RADFORD, F.S.A., F.B.A., F.R.HIST.S., L. V. GRINSELL, F.S.A., REV. AELRED WATKIN, F.R.HIST.S., F.S.A.
- 1968 W. J. Wedlake, F.S.A., Sir R. de Z. Hall, K.C.M.G., Prof. E. B. Ford, F.R.S., L. C. Hayward, F.S.A. and P. A. Rahtz, F.S.A.
- 1969 Mrs. J. B. Clark, f.S.A., T. J. Hunt, f.S.A. (Chairman), E. L. Kelting, O.B.E., R. B. Naish, S. C. Morland

Nomination of Members for election to the Council at the Annual General Meeting may be made by Honorary or Ordinary Members or by the Council, and must be in the Secretary's hands at least one month before the date of that Meeting, Retiring Members are eligible for re-election. (Rule 6 (b)).

Members representing Branch Societies, Sections and other Bodies: MISS K. WHEELER (West Somerset Branch); MRS. A. D. HALLAM, W. A. WILSON, F.R.E.S., and L. A. HALDANE (Natural History Section); J. R. H. DOWLING and I. I. JEFFRIES (Ornithological Section); H. F. SCOTT STOKES, F.S.A. (Museum Governing Body); R. S. SIMMS, F.S.A. (Ministry of Public Building and Works); I. P. COLLIS, F.S.A. (County Archivist); R. C. Sansome, F.S.A.SCOT. (Keeper, Somerset County Museum).

## Trustees and Representatives Nominated by the Society

Representative Trustee on the Axbridge Town Trust: L. W. MARTIN Representative Trustee on the Ilchester Town Trust: J. Stevens Cox, f.S.A.

Society's Representatives, Leigh Woods Committee of Management: Miss E. RALPH, F.S.A. and P. V. McGrath

Society's Representative on the Council for British Archaeology: L. C. HAYWARD, F.S.A.

### Trustees of the Pigott Collection of Drawings, Somerset

The Lord-Lieutenant of the County. The Lord Bishop of the Diocese.

The Chairman of Quarter Sessions.

The Members of Parliament for the County.

#### NATURAL HISTORY SECTIONS OF THE SOCIETY

Natural History Section: C. A. Cookson, o.B.E., Taunton Castle.

Ornithological Section: Miss E. M. Palmer, M.B.O.U., Highfield, Sandford Hill, Bridgwater.

#### **BRANCH SOCIETIES**

Weston-super-Mare Branch: M. WINDEATT, Whitestones, Hillyfields, Winscombe,

West Somerset Branch: J. A. SMITHER, Uplands, Hopcott Close, Minehead.

#### AFFILIATED SOCIETIES

Glastonbury Antiquarian Society: E. John Loveridge, 2 Albert Buildings, Glastonbury.

Shepton Mallet Natural History Society: Miss M. Watkins, 3 Charlton Road, Shepton Mallet.

Wells Natural History and Archaeological Society: R. D. Reid, D.Ph., 8 Chamberlain Road, Wells.

Clevedon and District Archaeological Society: Mrs. P. M. Legg, 15 Hallam Road, Clevedon.

Historical Association, Ilminster Branch: W. M. WIGFIELD, 16 Higher Beacon, Ilminster.

Axbridge Caving Group and Archaeological Society: Dr. J. C. Ball, 4 Church Row, Stratton-on-the-Fosse, Bath.

Bath and Camerton Archaeological Society: Peter J. Greening, 61 Pulteney Street, Bath.

Burnham-on-Sea Archaeological and Natural History Society: M. R. Hill, Leigh House, Brent Knoll. Shepton Mallet Museum.

Yeovil Archaeological and Local History Society: E. H. SILCOX, 13 Lower Wraxhill Road, Yeovil.

Portishead Preservation Society: Mrs. B. Moreton and Mrs. A. Burns, Cassis, Down Road, Portishead.

Frome Society for Local Study: Mrs. H. M. Massey, Hurst, Spring Gardens, Frome.

North Somerset Archaeological Research Group: D. Lilly, 99 Kenn Road, Clevedon (*Recorder*).

Bristol Archaeological Research Group: CHARLES BROWNE, c/o The City Museum, Bristol 8.

Keynsham and Saltford Local History Society: Mrs. J. M. Day, Hunters Hill, Oakfield Road, Keynsham, Bristol,