SOMERSET ARCHAEOLOGICAL AND NATURAL HISTORY SOCIETY

TRUSTEES, OFFICERS AND COUNCIL OF THE SOCIETY 1998

Trustees:	L.A. HALDANE, M.A., REVD BRIAN KIRK, B.D., LADY GASS, M.A., JEFFREY EDE, C.B., F.R.HIST.S., M.A., DEREK SHORROCKS, M.A., F.S.A
President:	PROFESSOR NICHOLAS ORME
Vice-Presidents:	THE HON. MRS P.L.F. ACLAND-HOOD, THE VERY REVD PHILIP JEBB, O.S.B.
Executive Officers:	Chairman of the Council: DR R.W. DUNNING, F.S.A Vice-Chairman: MS H.M. BINDING, B.A. Hon. Treasurer: K.A. JACKSON Hon. Librarian: D. BROMWICH, M.A., A.L.A. Hon. Editor: M. McGARVIE, F.S.A.
Independent Examines:	Albert Goodman & Co.
Hon. Legal Adviser:	R.K. Mulligan

COUNCIL

Ex-officio Members: The Trustees, the President and the Executive Officers **Past Presidents:** MRS MADGE LANGDON, B.A., B.PHIL, F.S.A., DEREK BRIGGS, F.G.S., PROFESSOR BRYONY COLES, B.A., M.PHIL, F.S.A., THE VERY REVD PHILIP JEBB, O.S.B., M.A.

Elected members (to retire at the Annual General Meeting indicated)

- 1998 R.J.E. BUSH, M.A., Dr. R.W. DUNNING, F.S.A., MRS P. ELLSON, B.A., B.W. WATKIN, M.A., DIP.T.P.
- 1999 LADY GASS, M.A., R.A. CROFT, B.A., M.I.F.A., B.J. MURLESS
- 2000 MRS B. LOWE, S.C. MINNITT, B.A., F.S.A., A.M.A., R.A. SETTERINGTON

Committee Chairman and members representing other bodies:

D.P. DAWSON, B.A., F.S.A., F.M.A. (Archaeological); REVD B.W. KIRK, B.D. (Natural History); DR. A.P. RADFORD, M.B., CH.B., D.CH. (Library); MRS H.M. BINDING, B.A. (Local History); DR R.P. FLOWER-SMITH, B.A., PH.D. (Historic Buildings); A. GREEN, M.A., DIP.ARCH. ADMIN. (County Archivist); D.P. DAWSON, B.A., F.S.A., F.M.A. (County Museums Officer); R. DICKSON (Somerset County Council Libraries, Museums and Records Committee), MRS J. DAGNALL (Associated Societies).

ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING 1997

The Annual General Meeting of the Society was held at Bridgwater College on Saturday 10 May, 1997. The meeting was attended by 58 members of the Society and apologies for absence were received from a further 3.

The retiring President, Mrs Madge Langdon, introduced Professor Nicholas Orme as President for 1997-8. He was welcomed by the Society and Mrs Langdon was thanked for her services. The resignations of Mrs Acland-Hood and Prior Jebb as Trustees were announced and both were thanked by the Society. Mr Ede and Mr Shorrocks were elected to the office. Mrs Acland-Hood and Prior Jebb were elected Vice-Presidents. The Chairman announced that Mr Gerald Coker, Honorary Treasurer, and Mr Tom Mayberry, Honorary Editor, were not seeking re-election, and expressed the thanks of the Society for their service. Mr Keith Jackson and Mr Michael McGarvie were elected to succeed them, and the other Executive Officers, the Independent Examiner, and the Honorary Legal Adviser, as listed on the previous page, were also elected. Mrs B. Lowe, S.C. Minnitt and R.A. Setterington were re-elected to serve on Council for the years 1997-2000. Members of the subject committees were elected en bloc. The Society's accounts for the year ending 31 December 1996 were presented by the Honorary Treasurer and adopted. Chairmen of the Archaeological, Historic Buildings, Library, Local History, and Natural History Committees gave reports on the activities of their respective committees during the year. These were followed by a report from the County Museum Officer. The Society heard with sorrow of the deaths of Mr A.D. Hallam and Dom A. Watkin. The Report of Mrs Langdon, Administrator of the Maltwood Fund, was received.

A change to the accounting system for the Subject Committees was proposed but the proposal did not receive a seconder. Thanks were expressed to Mrs Pat Ellson for her work on the Newsletter, to Mrs Jean Rainer as Office Secretary, and to all volunteers who work hard on the Society's behalf.

The retiring President then gave her Presidential Address entitled "An Exposed Somerset Coastline".